## http://www.musicfrenzy.net/cd-reviews

**Band: NEW RIDERS OF THE PURPLE SAGE** 

Album: 17 Pine Avenue

Members: David Nelson (Guitar/Vocals), Buddy Cage (Pedal Steel), Michael Falzarano (Guitar/Vocals), Ronnie Penque (Bass/Vocals), Johnny Markowski (Drums/Vocals)

Genre: Country rock Release date: 2012

Website: www.nrpsmusic.com

Country rock or psychedelic Americana. Call it what you wish but the latest album from the New Riders of the Purple Sage "17 Pine Avenue" is fun, danceable, enjoyable, high-quality music. The album features 12 new songs, 7 of which were written by David Nelson and Grateful Dead lyricist Robert Hunter.

The title track "17 Pine Avenue" is such a groovy track that I literally played it 4 times in a row! Few songs exude "cool" through its music or lyrics. This track does it through both. It has a rhythm that makes you want to strut around town while singing its opening lyrics "Number 17 Pine Avenue. Corner of Southwest and Coochie Coo." It truly sounds like every single person playing on that song is having one hell of a time.

The album was recorded at Forge Recording by Larry Levin and Brad Kotzmoyer, mastered by Ed Littman, and produced by Michael Falzarano with Bobby Driscoll as executive producer. I mention this because the sound quality of this recording is superior. I dare anyone to listen to the drums on "Fivio" and tell me that they aren't some of the best sounding drums put down by any band. The tone, the clarity, and just the way Johnny Markowski plays them left me tuned in to the drums on every song. The pedal steel as played by Buddy Cage helps give the record that country sound.

Band mainstay David Nelson's vocals shine throughout the album. His voice is strong and at some points even soothing as he leads his band mates through these songs that have a Travelling Wilburysish feel but are 100% New Riders of the Purple Sage!

~John