

' INTERVIEWS

- ' STAFF BLOGS
- ' Web Links
- ' Submit News
- ' Top 10 Lists
- ' FAQ
- ' Contact Us
- ' Stats



Who's Online

There are currently 46 guests online.

Google Ads

Various Artists: Jukin'

The Jukin' Wit De Blues series of compilations from Catbone Unreleased Records, gathers together vintage recordings from some of the true Blues masters (and the odd surprise) into themed albums that concentrate on one singular style, approach, or vibe of the Blues. With Jukin', the theme would appear to be on the up-



tempo, full on, kickin' up a storm attack that raised the roof on many a packed hall in years gone by.

Featuring Little Richard, Howlin Wolf, James Cotton, Billy Boy Arnold, George Cummings, Jimmy Reed, Mike Bloomfield and Jack Millman, there's no doubt that this latest addition in the Catbone collection contains some pulsating contributions from the true heavy weights of the genre. Add to that the iconic nature of some of the songs presented -"Tutti Frutti", "Highway 49", "Shame, Shame, Shame" and "Wang Dang Doodle" - and the results are a pure joy for any aficionado of this style of music. The live in the studio versions of these songs contains bags of energy and the vibrancy that made Blues music so irresistible in the first place. Oddly however the album's closing track, the ultrajazzy tones of "Asphyxiated Swing" from Jack Millman doesn't fit on this album at all, neither in style, sound, nor attack and good though it is, it is a confusing end to a good collection. That aside, The large collection of Howlin Wolf and James Cotton (4 tracks apiece) and Little Richard and Billy Boy Arnold (2 each), ensure that the standard is kept high and the energy intense.

The recordings are of universally high quality, especially considering their vintage, however as with the four other collections in this series that I have reviewed the scant liner notes and complete lack of information in the booklet severely lets this release down. Having now heard all five discs in this series, the other question that I am beginning to wonder is, whether I would have preferred to have actually heard all the contributions from each single artist presented together, rather than split across five CD's. Personally I would, but that is I suppose only a small gripe regarding what is another compilation that presents this style of music in a very strong light.

Track Listing

- 1. Feeling Good JAMES COTTON
- 2. Good Time Charlie JAMES COTTON
- 3. Ah Baby BILLY BOY ARNOLD
- 4. Worried About You HOWLIN WOLF
- 5. Don't Lie To Me MIKE BLOOMFIELD
- 6. There Is Something On Your Mind JAMES COTTON
- 7. Shame, Shame, Shame JIMMY REED
- 8. Off The Wall JAMES COTTON
- 9. Tutti Frutti LITTLE RICHARD
- 10. Highway 49 HOWLIN WOLF
- 11. Keep On Knockin' LITTLE RICHARD
- 12. Wang Dang Doodle HOWLIN WOLF
- 13. Mary Bernice BILLY BOY ARNOLD
- 14. Cause Of It All HOWLIN WOLF
- 15. Highway 61 GEORGE CUMMINGS
- 16. Turn Your Love Light On JAMES COTTON
- 17. Asphyxiated Swing JACK MILLMAN

Added: April 7th 2012 Reviewer: Steven Reid Score: ** * Related Link: Catbone Music Hits: 19 Language: english

[🕒 Printer Friendly Page] [🖃 Send to a Friend]

[Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment]



For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our **FAQ page**. If you have questions or comments, please **Contact Us**. Please see our **Policies Page** for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by **SpeedSoft.com**